Old vs. new at Lone Fir Cemetery

photo 4

I tried to get a picture to corroborate a 1946 photo with the Mt. Tabor streetcar and a now-gone house in the background, but by the time I reached the Lone Fir Cemetery, everything was pretty backlit.  And, as they always say, the big long blocky condos don’t do much in letting light through.  Still, I’m happy to have found the stone quickly.  I don’t know Lone Fir nearly as well as I should!

Finding the stones did not involve any sleuthing; this was a walk with a purpose, but I also went to town looking at old maps before heading out to find out what angle this is.  I’d say the now-gone white house would’ve been at maybe 2 o’clock from the obelisk.

Regarding the obelisk, I couldn’t read it from the source picture, so I photographed it.

photo(15)

The obelisk is the best frame of reference since several headstones are gone or broken (!!!) and the trees are grown or gone.

I want more puzzles to solve!

Posted on February 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

